Senate GOP pledges to forgo earmarks, for the most part

Created: November 16, 2010 18:35 | Last updated: July 31, 2020 00:00

It’s official: Senate Republicans voted this afternoon to pass a moratorium on earmark requests among their members for the next two years. In addition, Sens. Tom Coburn (R-Okla.) and Claire McCaskill (D-Mo.) are making a bipartisan push for a floor vote tomorrow on statutory language that would apply to the entire Senate.

Although the Republican Conference voted to adopt the moratorium, it’s important to remember that — currently, at least — it’s a nonbinding resolution.

“I’m going to look out for my state of Oklahoma,” Sen. Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.) told Poltico today, in apparent defiance of the upcoming decision. “Obviously, that’s what the Constitution says I’m going to do, and I’m going to do it. Let’s keep in mind this is over. I’ll be the last conservative standing.”

Whether Inhofe’s small act of civil disobedience — or Sen. Lindsey Graham’s (R-S.C) hedging — prevents Republicans from claiming the moral high ground on the issue remains to be seen.